top of page

Being Busy is a Choice


One of the main items I have realized as I near the end of my ISM journey is how routine certain events become. There are some things, such as this weekly report, that I am so used to writing about every single week. Items such as my mentor visits, updating portfolios, emailing and calling professionals all have become regular items. In a second, all of that could be taken away from me because life, of course, has its fair share of curveballs.

Something that I have been attempting to focus on throughout this past week in ISM is picking and choosing items. Like the title of this entry states, being busy is a choice. People constantly equate business to how much dedication one may show to something that he/she holds dear or how high or low their stress levels may be at a given time. However, I have learned and chosen to do less and learn more. This will be an especially challenging task considering

how hustle-bustle life already is, but as I have observed from Dr. Dickschat, high school is nothing compared to the professional world.

Dr. Dickschat is one of the most renowned pediatricians in the North Texas region and possesses a rigorous work schedule, as she is the doctor in her clinic who has the most patients. Occasionally, Dr. Dickschat would have to sacrifice sleep and personal activities in order to treat younger children and perform her job. Thus, she has, in my opinion, mastered the art of saying no.

I believe saying no is something that takes courage but also requires a sense of what is necessary for the long-term rather than the short-term. The medical profession revolves around assisting others, treating people, and maintaining their health and safety. Due to that fact, people have to go into this profession expecting a “regular” amount of sleepless nights and oftentimes, putting away personal time for work.

All in all, this is somewhat of a phenomenon I have observed throughout this past week and previous weeks. It has continued my interest in pediatrics but has shown me the realistic side of this profession and many similar ones.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page