top of page

You Must Do The Things You Think You Cannot Do

On Monday, I had my first afternoon mentor visit with Dr. Dickschat after a long period of morning visits. I immensely enjoyed meeting with her at this visit because I was able to observe some quite interesting cases; because allergy season is beginning to dominate once again, there were a few cases pertaining to children who possessed severe allergies and the course of action my mentor took in diagnosing these illnesses.

Observing a pediatrician has provided me with a great amount of insight into this specific field of medicine and the abundant amount of information which a pediatrician must acquire during his or her years of studying. Dr. Dickschat presents an array of information every time she visits with a patient because that is a critical portion of her job, but it is important to look at everything that may a problem causing an illness and what potential solutions exist.

Additionally, we were able to discuss the structure of my proposal for my final product and the possible obstacles I could face in creating these contrasting functions. I told her that there were definitely some challenges that I could face that may not be included in my proposal and that would be reason for them to not accept my change in the program. However, she told me to be optimistic and realistic because as a high school student who is an expert in the field of nutrition, there is only so much I can do, but if I am able to make a change in the snack menu or even promote awareness towards this problem, that would also be considered a feat.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page